Four-Square is a biblical term first mentioned in the book of Exodus and lastly in the book of Revelation. Each of the ten biblical references containing the word Four-Square, within the scriptural meaning, pertains to God’s redemptive pattern, His acceptance of those who believe in Christ, and their worship of Him (Exodus 27:1; 28:16; 30:2; 37:25; 38:1; 39:9; 1 King 7:31; Ezekiel 40:47; 48:20; and Revelation 21:16). Four-Square is an appropriate term to describe the four phases of the ministry of Jesus Christ: the Savior, Baptiser with the Holy Spirit, Healer, and Soon-Coming King. 

Each facet of the Four-Square Gospel message is represented by an emblem. The cross represents Jesus as Savior. The dove represents Jesus as Baptiser with the Holy Spirit. The cup represents Jesus as the Healer. The crown represents Jesus as the Soon-coming King.

Jesus Christ, the Savior

Jesus Christ is the only hope of humanity. Jesus loved us and died to save us from the penalty of our sin and rebellion. The salvation He brings begins with a person’s decision to put faith in Him. That decision opens a lifetime of being healed, restored, delivered from oppression, and set free to stand in spiritual, emotional, and physical wholeness (Luke 4:18).

Jesus Christ, the Baptiser with the Holy Spirit

Some of Jesus’ last words to His disciples concerned empowerment. He charged them to carry on the good works He modeled for them. He promised that He would send the Holy Spirit to give them the power to spread the good news about Him. On the Day of Pentecost, in Acts 2, the disciples experienced the presence and power of God as they became witnesses of Jesus Christ.

Jesus Christ, the Healer

Jesus went about “doing good and healing all who were oppressed by the devil, for God was with Him” (Acts 10:38). Jesus draws us to Himself in love and then touches us with healing power. He perpetuates that healing power by promising that signs and wonders would follow His followers as they went out to minister (Mark 16:17-18).

Jesus Christ, The Soon-coming King

As Jesus ascended into Heaven, the angels declared that He would return to take His church to live with Him forever (Acts 1:10-11). This is the great hope of those who believe in Jesus as their Savior (John 14:1-3).

In many Four-Square churches, the Four-Square flag is prominently displayed. This also serves as a reminder of the Four-Square Gospel—the four phases of the ministry of Jesus Christ. In the upper left hand corner of the flag is a “4” paced in a square on a Bible. The flag has four large stripes. Across the bottom of the flag, like a solid foundation, is the red stripe, which represents Jesus as Savior by the color of His blood that was shed. Next is the gold stripe, which signifies the fire of the Holy Spirit. The blue stripe represents divine healing, which was the color of the High Priest’s garment in the Old Testament. The top stripe is purple, which represents the royalty of Jesus, our Soon-Coming King.

The Four-Square Gospel is by no means a new or modern gospel. It is the same gospel proclaimed in the early church. Four-Square is simply a name applied to help describe the four most important aspects of the gospel taught in the New Testament.

Perhaps the simplest scriptural summary possible of the Four-Square Gospel would be the testimony that Jesus saves us according to John 3:16; He baptises us with the Holy Spirit according to Acts 2:4; He heals people according to James 5:14, 15; And, Jesus Christ is coming again to receive us to Himself according to 1 Thessalonians 4:16, 17.

In addition to the four major tenets of faith, the Four-Square Church is Trinitarian. It proclaims the Bible as true, immutable, steadfast and unchangeable. Four-Square churches practice water baptism by immersion, and the Lord’s Supper (communion) is observed regularly.

Since Jesus and His Word have never changed, His instruction to His church today remains the same. The church has been called and enabled to minister in His Name to bring wholeness through salvation, power to be witnesses through the infilling of the Holy Spirit, healing and wholeness, and hope for the promise of Jesus’ return.
 So shall they fear the name of the Lord from the west,  
And his glory from the rising of the sun. 
When the enemy shall come in like a flood, 
The Spirit of the Lord shall lift up a standard against him. 
Isaiah 59:19 ... KJV.